…is this thing on?

When I look at the date of my first blog post for the local writing project, Think Kit (not to mention my first blog post ever), I will forever be reminded that I was a day late. The project, a series of daily writing prompts provided by a local marketing company, SmallBox, started on December 1st and here I am, on December 2nd, attempting to write my first blog post.

I can try to blame it on the fact that I was busy finalizing details for a big gear giveaway the nonprofit I volunteer with is doing (shameless plug – but check it out! Awesome products!), but in reality I was probably just intimidated by the idea of friends (and strangers) reading (and judging) my writing. But as SmallBox’s website says: “you can blog. We believe in you”. So here we go.

Disclaimer: I was an accounting major, not an english major, so please pardon any grammatical errors. Sometimes I don’t write good.

____________________________________________________________________________

Post 1: A Thousand Words. Share your year in photos.

Had I received this prompt a year ago today, I would have thought “I am going to DOMINATE this blog post”. I had just gotten back to the US after spending almost a year living in Basel, Switzerland with my boyfriend-turned-fiance and had roughly 3,486 photos that documented our every move while abroad. However, 2014 was a bit…well, how do I say this…less exciting than 2013. However, as my fiance and I have learned over the past year, sometimes you need to make your own adventure when it isn’t in your backyard. So that is exactly what we did!

While most people were wishing for warmer weather during the Polar Vortex last winter, Jeff and I headed to Utah to get another dose of snow. We were lucky enough to have 3 days of great snow, blue skies, and no crowds.

Blue skies at the Canyons Resort in Utah

Blue skies at the Canyons Resort in Utah

When the snow finally melted and the temperature rose to a bearable level, I got the chance to explore my new city, which included long runs on the Monon Trail in preparation for the 500 Festival Mini-Marathon in May.

Mini Marathon with 35,000 friends

Mini Marathon with 35,000 friends

Summer consisted of anything and everything outside, like trips to Eagle Creek Park, where I got to check off a bucket list item: stand up paddleboarding. SUPing is so in right now so naturally I wanted to try it (next fitness trend on my list: barre). It was fun, challenging, and relaxing all in one. And Jeff, my not-so-graceful fiance, only fell off his board twice within the first 10 minutes so we’re calling it a win!

SUP?

SUP?

Big ups on Memorial Day

Big ups on Memorial Day

Fore!

Fore!

Though we didn’t get to experience Brown County in the fall (as every Hoosier has told me I need to do), we did get go camping there for a weekend before the leaves changed. It was a much needed break from the normal routine. And it also showed me that I need a new pair of hiking boots. Hello blisters.

Camping in Brown County

Camping in Brown County

So all in all, 2014 was full of adventure and 2015 won’t be too shabby either. I’m headed to South Africa in January on a service trip and will probably plan a few last minute weekend getaways when I start to feel restless. Oh and there’s a wedding and honeymoon to plan. Yep, I think 2015 will be a-ok.

Leave a Reply

